After the theft of his travel documents Roel Santos is stranded in Miami

In 2022 with the Olmecas, he had an excellent season slashing .411/.476/.625/1.101, he also collected 104 hits in 253 at-bats, this includes 18 doubles, six triples, eight home runs, 16 steals and 30 RBIs.

This winter with the Naranjeros de Hermosillo of the Mexican Winter League he went 72-for-238 (.303), with 18 of his hits going for extra bases(10 2B, 6 3B and 2 HR), 15 stolen and 18 runs batted in.

Eight other Cubans appear on Tabasco’s preseason roster they are : Yoennis Yera, Carlos Juan Viera, Maikel Serrano, Raico Santos (Roel’s cousin), Armando Dueñas, Javier Mirabal, Dayan García and José Ramón Rodríguez.

Everything seems to indicate that it will be another season with a strong Cuban presence in the Aztec circuit. Without a doubt the LMB is a league flush with Cuban talent in recent years.

Granma, Cuba native Roel Santos is stranded in the United States after having some migratory documents stolen after Cuba’s 14-2 loss to the United States in the Semifinal of the World Baseball Classic at LoanDepot Park in the city of Miami. The Cuban outfielder however spoke to Pelota Cubana today and stated according to Cuban he will be have the necessary documents to be able to travel to Mexico and join the Olmecas de Tabasco before the start of the Mexican Baseball League season.

Santos suffered the theft of several personal documents: passport (American visa, Mexican visa), work permits, among others. This has prevented the athlete from traveling to Cuba, but he already has permission to do so and in the next few days will travel to the island, where he will collect the necessary documents to join the Tabasco on time.

Santos comes had a stupendous WBC where he hit a whopping .368 (19-7), with six runs scored, two RBIs, two stolen bases and four walks.

Below are all the Cubans on a preseason roster in the Mexican League:

Olmecas de Tabasco:

Yoennis Yera LHP

Carlos Juan Viera RHP

Maikel Serrano IF-OF

Roel Santos OF

Raico Santos OF

Armando Dueñas RHP

Javier Mirabal RHP

Dayan García IF

Pericos de Puebla:

Luis Medina IF

Peter O’Brien OF

Piratas de Campeche:

Edain Román IF-OF

Rafael Fonseca IF-DH

Guillermo Avilés IF-OF

Yuniesky Larduet OF

Yudiel González OF

Josúan Hernández IF-OF

Saraperos de Saltillo:

Henry Urrutia 1B-DH

José Miguel Fernández 1B-DH

Ariel Miranda LHP

Mariachis de Guadalajara:

Odrisamer Despaigne RHP

Dariel Álvarez IF-OF

Leones de Yucatán:

Yadir Drake IF-OF

Lázaro Alonso 1B-OF

Onelki García LHP

Yoanner Negrín RHP

Toros de Tijuana :

Félix Pérez OF-1B

Sultanes de Monterrey :

Jesús Balaguer RHP

Bravos de León:

Lázaro Blanco RHP

Diablos Rojos de México City :

Yunesky Maya RHP

Tigres de Quintana Roo :

Lázaro Hernández IF-OF

Generales de Durango:

Alay Lago IF

Leave a Reply