Cuba takes it on the chin to México in the JCC opener.

The Cuban National Baseball Team opened the Central American and Caribbean Games with a 4-0 loss to a Mexican team laden with players from the Liga Mexicana de Béisbol at Saturnino Bengoa Stadium in San Salvador.

In what has become a recurrent theme for Cuba in international events, their bats were once again handcuffed by the opposition. A lineup chock full of players who were present in the past World Classic was held in check by Mexican starter Wilmer Rios, a single by Yadil Mujica and a double by Yoelkis Guibert was all the damage that Cuba did to Aztec pitching on the afternoon.

The right-hander who pitches with the Acereros de Monclova in the Mexican League was the winner on the day and did not allow any hits to Armando Jhonson’s bunch during his five innings of the contest, aside from the two hits, he walked two and struck three. Three relievers (Fabián Cota, Alexandro Tovalin and Samuel Zazueta) retired the last the six batters of the contest in order after Ríos’ exit.

The Mexicans scored a run in the second inning, thanks to two wild pitches by starter Carlos Juan Viera with a runner scoring all the way from second base. In the fourth they added another score via a run-scoring double drive by Jesús Ávila and the third baseman also drove in a run in the sixth inning to pad México’s lead

Fernando Villegas knocked in a run with a single to left in the sixth to close the scoring for the team from south of the border. Cuba will face a strong Curaçao squad that has had their number in recent international events tomorrow at 3PM to try to even their record at one in the tournament.

Cuban action on the day:

1. Roel Santos (CF): 3-0, 2K
2. Yoelkis Guibert (RF): 3-1, 2B
3. Yurisbel Gracial (DH): 3-0
4. Erisbel Arruebarruena (SS): 2-0, BB
5. Dayán García (3B): 3-0
6. Guillermo Avilés: 1-0, BB
E: Yasniel González: 1-0
7. Yadil Mujica: 3-1
8. Andrys Pérez: 1-0, K
E: Yordan Manduley: 1-0
Yunior Ibarra: Jugó a la defensa
9. Raico Santos: 2-0


Carlos Juan Viera: 3.2 IP, 6H, 2ER, L (0-1)

Javier Mirabal: 1.1 IP, H, 3K, BB, ER

Miguel Neira: 0.1 IP, H, 0ER

Yeudis Reyes: 0.2 IP, 0H

Franklyn Quintana: 0.2 IP, 2H, K, ER

Renner Rivero: 0.1 IP

Leave a Reply