Cuba announces its team for the Central American games.

Cuba announced its today for the Central American and Caribbean Games in San Salvador later this month and it is formidable one. Although no one from an MiLB roster or any Asian League is assisting the country, Cuba sports a very talented team for the competition.

At catcher WBC holdover Andrys Pérez will share catching duties with the ultra-talented Yunior Ibarra. WBC stars Erisbel Arruebarruena and Yadil Mujica standout in the infield. Veteran Yordan Álvarez and up-and-coming Luis Mateo add depth to the infield.infielder. Guillermo Avilés and Yasniel Hernández add power and round out the infield.

The outfield might be Cuba’s most talented and deepest position. Yurisbel Gracial a year removed from Japan is still more than capable for these types of tournaments. Mexican League All-Star Roel Santos will definitely play centerfield and hit lead-off. Yoelkis Guibert who hit .333 in the WBC and will play in Mexico this winter will man a corner outfield spot, while Raico Santos adds depth. A notable absence once again from the roster was Yasmany Tomás who was spurned by Cuba once more.

Carlos Juan Viera, Yoennis Yera and José Ramón Rodríguez give Cuba three top notch starters. Javier Mirabal and possibly Naikel Cruz will round out the rotation. Jonathan Carbó, Franklyn Quintana and Yunieski García offer Cuba a solid middle relief, while Yeudis Reyes and Renner Rivero could be possibly be the closers for Cuba in the tournament.

For Cuba who brings a very well rounded roster for this type of competition and that talent level it will face anything less than a championship will be utter failure for the Caribbean Island.

Cuba’s Roster for the 2023 Central American and Caribbean Games:

Catchers (2): Yunior Ibarra (SSP) y Andrys Pérez (MTZ)

Infielders (7): Erisbel Arruebarruena (MTZ), Dayán García (ART), Yadil Mujica (MTZ), Yordan Manduley (HOL), Luis V. Mateo (CFG), Guillermo Avilés (GRM) y Yasniel González (MAY)

Outfielders (4): Roel Santos (GRM), Yoelkis Guibert (SCU), Yurisbel Gracial (MTZ) y Raico Santos (GRM)

Pitchers (11): Carlos J. Viera (LTU), Yoennis Yera (MTZ), Yeudis Reyes (GTM), Javier Mirabal (VCL), José R. Rodríguez (CAM), Naikel Cruz (MTZ), Jonathan Carbó (IJV), Franklyn Quintana (IJV), Miguel Neira (SSP), Yunieski García (ART) y Renner Rivero (MTZ)

Leave a Reply